2017 Stars of Life

Congratulations to the 2017 Stars

Lori Fetting – West Trail Ambulance Service-Mayville
Laurie Grandalen – West Trail Ambulance Service-Mayville
Matt Gilbertson – Maddock Ambulance Service
Reed Groth – Sanford AirMed
Lori Mehus – West Trail Ambulance Service-Mayville
Randi-Anne Tohm – Mohall Ambulance Service
Janell Peterson – Oliver County Ambulance Service-Center. 


On January 31, 2017, NDEMSA will be hosting the biennial celebration of the Stars of EMS.The Stars of Life is a biennial celebration to recognize and reward those individuals who epitomize the mission of EMS. It is also an opportunity to educate the public and our legislators of the role EMS plays in providing first-class healthcare.

The event starts with EMS and Hospital Day at the Capitol with lunch and a medal ceremony held early afternoon. This is also an opportunity for the stars to speak with their local legislators. The Day at the Capitol allows healthcare professionals to share the struggles and rewards of serving in North Dakota.


The evening of the 31st  involves a social gathering with government leaders, other Stars, Association Board Members, and other EMS personnel, and was followed by dinner and the presentation of the stars!

Good candidates for the Stars of Life are individuals who show a strong commitment and enthusiasm for EMS in North Dakota and genuinely embody the spirit of our industry. Candidates can be Paramedics, EMTs, First Responders, drivers, dispatchers, and other operations personnel who continually go above and beyond the call of duty.   

To nominate an individual complete the Nomination Form and write a brief bio about the candidate.  This bio will be used for the program book and might describe the reason the individual is being honored, work experience, distinguishing personal traits, an event or experience that exhibits the Star’s
commitment and courage, etc.  Mail the Nomination Form, bio, and the sponsorship fee to the NDEMSA office and you have created a Star!  You will  also have to submit a color photo, head shot only, before
January 4, 2017.  Do not miss your chance to create a Star!  You will not have this opportunity again until 2019!  A limit of 15 Stars will be honored in the 2017 ceremony.

The nomination fee of $200.00 includes two banquet tickets a single room for the Star, and two breakfast tickets. Extra banquet tickets can be purchased for $25.00 a ticket.

Click here for the brochure or nominate your Star online


Congratulations to the following 2015 Stars of Life:


Joely Heavy Runner

Brenda Young

Angel Hoffert

Michele Helming


Colton Belmore

Rodney Wirth

Ken Novacek

Stacy Ernst

Ryan Hauck




Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software